We Are Born

by The First Conception

(free) 12:18
(free) 03:20
(free) 03:41


This EPCD is an experimental jam session. It could not be mixed as it was recorded on a stereo track mixing desk. The whole set has been mastered at Future Studios of Norwich on a multitrack mixing desk for better sound quality which is as good as it gets due to the enormous amount of compression used when first recorded at Plug Studios on April 15th 2008 - TFC's first recording now also on CD.

The First Conception came to life on March 30th 2008, as a duo, with a live acoustic session at The Steam Packet, in Norwich, after some time spent on rehearsals.

This music project consists of two founding members, Tom Conway (from Norwich) and Rogerio Ferreira (from Lisbon) who met in April 2007 at a TEFL course for teachers.

Jaki Alden (also from Norwich) joined the project for the recording of some tracks on two albums and tags along as and when.

As a trio, TFC performed an acoustic set for the first time at the Shed, Norwich, on May 21st 2009.

Tom and Rogerio also recorded a jazz jam session as a quartet with Russell Young on piano and Julian Revell on saxophone. Its edited version is available as an EPCD entitled Off the Record.

A compilation entitled Compulsive Matter (strong tracks, second takes and singles) was put together in July 2010 to celebrate TFC's 2 years of activity.

Five albums have so far been recorded: We Are Born (April 2008), Inscape (July 2008), Riddle of Existence (July 2009), Random Thoughts (August 2009) and The Jazz Matter (September 2009).

Inscape - Special Edition - celebrates Zacron's life and features a full length version of Woodland Green. Before that happens, all tracks are being remixed (once again).

Zacron is best known for designing the iconic Led Zeppelin III album cover for his friend Jimmy Page in 1973. This album cover is part of a vast and varied body of work by Zacron spanning five decades. He's done the same thing for his friend Rogerio Ferreira regarding TFC's Inscape album cover (re-issue).


A few tracks are available for downloading at this website. Some of the albums will be available on iTunes. Selected ones are sold at gigs. All albums will be available here through paypal. Physical copies will also be made available as requested.

Now, you can visit The First Conception at Number One Music:


TFC's profile at the new My Space has also been updated.


Due to the amount and diversity of tracks recorded in 2009, two albums and an EP were released that year.

After time spent in the studio (composing, rehearsing, recording, editing, mixing and mastering) The First Conception will be concentrating efforts on live gigs both in the UK and abroad.

All links at thefirstconception.com/apps/links


released April 30, 2008

Tom Conway - acoustic guitar
Rogerio Ferreira - drums

Recorded at Plug Studios
Mastered at Future Studios

Produced by Rogerio Ferreira
Executive Producer - Michael Leung

Album cover illustration by Melissa Weiss

All albums and website layout illustration by Rogerio Ferreira
Website background image courtesy of Robert Gendler
Website concept design by Bandcamp



all rights reserved


The First Conception London

Instrumental Soundscapes

contact / help

Contact The First Conception

Streaming and
Download help

Track Name: Dark Forces (Reprise)
Track Name: Jam in a Jar
Track Name: Cold Comfort Blues
Track Name: Out of the East